Case Study

 

The publisher frechverlag Stuttgart-based was founded in 1955 and is a market leader in the creative lifestyle domain in Germany. Around 1.800 products are offered through the company’s online stores. By using the eF|CommerceEngine the publishing company has not only optimised its end-customer logistics, which it immediately took control of in-house, but at the same time it has achieved an increase in customer satisfaction.

 

www.topp-kreativ.de

frechverlag improves the shopping experience through new end-customer logistics and optimises processes with the eF|CommerceEngine

The CommerceEngine was used to lay the foundations for efficient eCommerce structures and a closed value chain. We devised customised solutions specifically for frechverlag so they could manage their own merchandise, enabling them to process end-customer orders quickly and successfully, and to handle complimentary and review copies.

 

 

 

„We found a solution which could be customised to meet the particular requirements of the publishing industry and which we have been able to use to tackle technical challenges in a flexible manner.

Saskia Templin
Director Online
frechverlag

 

 

Optimise more than just purchasing with the eF|CommerceEngine

In order to deliver more quickly to customers and to be able to track logistics processes internally, frechverlag opted for a system optimisation. To handle the complex requirements posed by their end-customer logistics, a centralised software system was needed to cover all the latest commercial processes. A task which the eF|CommerceEngine was able to handle perfectly in its function as an order management system. The system was able to resolve all outstanding problems, exploit additional sales channels and improve customer service. The intention is to connect the software to additional marketplaces. In addition, a new option was provided which enables the customer to select gift wrap as their packaging material.



A control centre for all processes

The CommerceEngine has a real time interface which controls the exchange of data between the process engine and the online publishing house software Pondus. During this process the engine refines the information from Pondus to make it available in a suitable form to the customer. This enables the shop to obtain product master data, stock levels, shipping information and other important data from the eF|CommerceEngine with no time delays. Staff at frechverlag simply have to maintain product data, including author information, in a single central location.
“We were looking for a software system which would function as a central interface to connect the online shop, logistics, resource planning system and payment service providers”, says Saskia Templin, Director Online at frechverlag. “With the eF|CommerceEngine we have found a solution which can be adapted as if it was tailor-made for our requirements.”
The detail at frechverlag lies in the product types. Alongside stock-managed items, there is also a need to deal with pre-orders for new publications, bundles and digital products. Depending on the product type the online shop has to have recourse to other processes.



Authors and free copies are a particular challenge

In the publishing sector there are a huge variety of new requirements: for instance, authors are included as an additional factor and linked accordingly with particular products. Thanks to the open nature of the technology and the variety of interfaces offered, it was possible to create an option in the eBusiness software to handle author details. The sales process for digital goods and the shipping service now also run more smoothly for frechverlag.
In addition, eFulfilment developed bespoke approaches in other areas: processes for managing free copies and for providing review copies. The items taken from in-house storage for marketing purposes must not appear in the sales report, but they must still be traceable. With the help of an additional sales channel, we created an expedient solution.
Supplier re-orders are also handled via the engine. Since the platform can be scaled up as required, frechverlag is also equipped for future with the CommerceEngine.

 

 

 

Contact us

Would you like to learn more about the eF|CommerceEngine?
Then call us or write to us.

new customers consulting
+49 7141 2422821 
sales@efulfilment.de

 

 

MORE CASE-STUDIES

Case Study

 

Der frechverlag mit Sitz in Stuttgart besteht seit 1955 und ist Marktführer in Deutschland im Bereich der Kreativratgeber. Rund 1.800 Artikel bieten die Online-Shops für die Marken TOPP und BusseSeewald des Verlags an. Dank des Einsatzes der eF|CommerceEngine optimiert der Verlag nicht nur seine Endkunden-Logistik, die er ab sofort selbst in die Hand nimmt, sondern sorgt zugleich für eine steigende Kundenzufriedenheit.

 

www.topp-kreativ.de

frechverlag verbessert Einkaufserlebnis durch neue Endkunden-Logistik und optimiert Prozesse mit der eF|CommerceEngine

Durch die CommerceEngine wurde die Grundlage für effiziente eCommerce-Strukturen und eine geschlossene Wertschöpfungskette gelegt. Für den frechverlag schufen wir individuelle Lösungen für die hauseigene Warenwirtschaft zur erfolgreichen und schnellen Abwicklung von Endkunden-Bestellungen und für das Management von Frei- und Rezensionsexemplaren.

 

 

 

„Wir haben eine Lösung gefunden, die sich den Besonderheiten der Verlagsbranche anpasst und mit der wir technologische Herausforderungen flexibel bewältigen können.

Saskia Templin
Leiterin Online
frechverlag

 

 

Mit der eF|CommerceEngine mehr als den Einkauf optimieren

Um Kunden schneller beliefern und den logistischen Prozess firmenintern nachvollziehen zu können, entschied sich der frechverlag für eine Systemoptimierung. Zur Bewältigung der komplexen Anforderungen der Endkunden-Logistik war eine zentrale Software für alle Prozesse des modernen Handels notwendig. Eine Aufgabe, welche die eF|CommerceEngine in der Funktion eines Ordermanagements perfekt abdeckt. Mit ihr lassen sich alle bestehenden Probleme lösen, weitere Vertriebskanäle erschließen und der Kundenservice verbessern. Es ist geplant, die Software an weitere Marktplätze anzubinden. Außerdem entstand eine neue Option, die es Kunden ermöglicht, Geschenkpapier als Verpackungsmaterial auszuwählen.



Eine Schaltzentrale für alle Prozesse

Die CommerceEngine verfügt über eine Echtzeitschnittstelle, die den Datenaustausch zwischen der Prozess-Engine und der Online-Verlagssoftware Pondus steuert. Dabei veredelt die Engine die Informationen aus Pondus, um sie dem Kunden in passender Form zur Verfügung zu stellen. So kann der Shop ohne zeitliche Verzögerung Artikelstammdaten, Bestände, Versandinformationen und andere wichtige Daten aus der eF|CommerceEngine beziehen. Die Mitarbeiter des frechverlags müssen die Produktdaten inklusive der Autoreninformationen nur noch zentral an einer Stelle einpflegen.
„Wir waren auf der Suche nach einer Software, die als zentrale Schnittstelle Online-Shop, Logistik, Ressourcenplanungssystem und Payment-Dienstleister verbindet“, so Saskia Templin, Leiterin Online beim frechverlag. „Mit der eF|CommerceEngine haben wir eine Lösung gefunden, die sich wie maßgeschneidert auch an unsere Besonderheiten anpasst.“
Das Detail liegt beim frechverlag in den Produkttypen. Neben den bestandsgeführten Artikeln sind Vorbestellungen für Neuerscheinungen, Bundles und digitale Güter zu handhaben. Je nach Produkttyp muss der Online-Shop auf andere Abläufe zurückgreifen.



Autoren und Freiexemplare als besondere Herausforderung

Im Verlagswesen ergeben sich eine Vielzahl neuer Anforderungen: Autoren werden beispielsweise als zusätzlicher Faktor einbezogen und entsprechend mit Artikeln verknüpft. Dank der Technologieoffenheit und Schnittstellenvielfalt konnte für die eBusiness-Software eine Möglichkeit geschaffen werden, die Autorendetails zu verarbeiten. Auch der Verkaufsprozess für digitale Güter und der Versandservice laufen für den frechverlag nun verbessert ab.
Darüber hinaus entwickelte eFulfilment auch an anderer Stelle maßgeschneiderte Ansätze: Prozesse zum Managen der Freiexemplare sowie zur Bereitstellung von Rezensionsexemplaren. Die aus dem Eigenlager für Marketingzwecke entnommenen Artikel dürfen nicht im Umsatzbericht erscheinen, müssen aber entsprechend verfolgbar sein. Mithilfe eines zusätzlichen Vertriebskanals schufen wir eine zielführende Lösung.
Zudem werden über die Engine Lieferantennachbestellungen abgewickelt. Da die Plattform beliebig skalierbar ist, ist der frechverlag mit der CommerceEngine damit auch für die Zukunft gerüstet.

 

 

 

Kontakt

Sie möchten mehr über die eF|CommerceEngine erfahren?
Dann rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie uns.

Neukundenberatung
07141 2422821
sales@efulfilment.de

 

 

WEITERE CASE STUDIES